Youth Projects win inaugural wellbeing governance award

The award ‘Outstanding Leader in Wellbeing Governance’ was part of the inaugural NFP Awards created by Australian Scholarships Foundation, and through our charity, we were proudly able to help co-design the award and be part of the judging panel.

The award recognises an organisation that has demonstrated exceptional leadership in governing for strong wellbeing outcomes. The organisation has a reputation with staff and among sector peers for prioritising the mental health and resilience of its employees and/or volunteers.

The winner was a very inspiring organisation, Youth Projects, who pride themselves on their workplace wellbeing philosophy, which acknowledges work is just one part of someone’s life. By digging deep to understand their employees’ priorities, barriers and needs as “real people”, the organisation seeks to foster a psychologically safe workplace.

This has led to the implementation of measures centred entirely on the individual, including a life-first approach to wellbeing; an organisation-wide Employee Wellbeing Strategy; reinvigorated rewards and recognition programs; a bespoke EAP service based on the forward-thinking Dual Continua Model; embedding wellbeing into WHS governance; the promotion of lived experience; and nurturing a values-aligned culture.

The judges were impressed by the thoughtfulness Youth Projects brought to Wellbeing Governance in their organisation. This dedication was demonstrated in a number of areas, including the commitment to psychological safety, the high engagement with EAP, the value placed on lived experience, the provision of additional wellbeing leave, the board’s understanding of the organisation’s people through activities such as shadowing.


Youth Projects won awards in four categories on the night: Outstanding Emerging Leader in the over $3 million category, Outstanding Scholar, Outstanding Leadership in Talent Growth and Outstanding Leadership in Wellbeing Governance.
We are grateful to Australian Scholarship Foundation leadership, and acknowledge all fellow judges who donated their time to the inaugural awards:
Josephine Buontempo, Kasali Migration Australia, and Chair of ASF Assessment Panel
Justine Butler, Corporate Giving Specialist
Tara Castle, Queensland Community Foundation
David Crosbie, Community Council for Australia
Petrina Fraccaro, Cystic Fibrosis Queensland
Anne Frankenberg, Musica Viva Australia
Julia Keady, The Xfactor Collective
Ric Leahy, XEd Space
Rachael McLennan, People for Purpose
James Montgomery, AFL SportsReady
Kylie Pussell, Miracle Babies Foundation
Katherine Raskob, Fundraising Institute Australia
Leisa Sadler, Dress for Success
Mary Spongberg, Southern Cross University
Leonard Vary, The Myer Foundation and Sidney Myer Fund
Ben Vasiliou, Youth Projects
Beth Weatherly, Kilfinan Australia

Check out The Community Well - the new Social Sector Wellbeing and Resilience Hub here and the Australian Scholarships Foundation NFP Awards here

Sunday, 25 June 2023 13:00


Reach out to our Benefolk News Team

Contact our team now to find the right specialist for your organisation.

Call 1300 BENEFOLK (1300 236336)

We acknowledge the traditional custodians of the land and waters and their knowledge of the places where we gather to collaborate and strengthen communities. In our work, we recognise the importance of Country, not just as a place, but how it also maintains community, family, kin, lore and language. We pay our respects to Elders past and present.

Sign up to our Newsletter

Copyright 2012-2023: Benefolk Pty Ltd (formerly The Xfactor Collective Pty Ltd). All Rights Reserved.